This Bing Ads KPIs Glossary is full of definitions for key performance indicators your can track on the Bing Advertising network. For more information check out our Bing Ads Guides and our Bing Conversion Tracking Guide.
What it is: The number of clicks on a Call Extension phone number. This includes clicks on call forwarding (metered) phone numbers only.
What you need to know: Currently, Call Extensions are only available in the US and UK for all devices. However, call forwarding calls are available on smartphones in all Bing Ads countries/regions.
Get more info: What are ad extensions?
What it is: The maximum amount you will spend per day or month, depending on your budget type (daily – standard, daily – accelerated, or monthly).
What you need to know: With daily standard, you might spend more or less than the daily budget, but you won’t spend over the daily budget x the number of days in the month.
Get more info: What are my budget options?
What it is: Delivery status indicates whether your ad is eligible to display.
What you need to know: You might have more than one status, but we’ll only display the most important one. Click the arrow next to the status for more info and to view any additional status messages that could have an impact on ad delivery.
Get more info: Delivery status
What it is: A measure of how competitive your ads are in the marketplace. Quality score has three components: expected click-through rate, ad relevance, and landing page experience. Your quality score can range from 1 to 10, with 10 being the best.
Why it’s important: Your Bing Ads quality score can provide insight into the performance of your campaigns.
Get more info: Quality score in depth
What it is: Clicks are what you pay for. They typically include a customer clicking an ad on a search results page or on a website on the Yahoo Bing Network. Clicks can also come from other sources (for examples, spiders, robots, test servers).
What you need to know: You pay for clicks on standard-quality clicks, not on low-quality or invalid clicks.
Get more info: Monitoring clicks: Telling the good from the bad
What it is: The number of times an ad has been displayed on search results pages or other sites on the Yahoo Bing Network.
Why it’s important: Regardless of whether you are driving customers to your website, tracking conversions, or just trying to get your message out, you want to track the number of times your ad is shown.
Tip: Run the share of voice report to get an estimate of how many more impressions you could be getting.
What it is: The total cost of all clicks on an ad divided by the number of clicks. This is the average amount you’re actually charged each time your ad is clicked. For example, if you paid a total of $48.35 for 300 clicks, your average CPC is $0.16.
What it isn’t: Average CPC is not the same as current bid (max CPC). Current bid is the maximum cost-per-click that you are willing to pay (not including your bid adjustments).
Get more info: How do I improve my ad campaign performance?
What it is: The total amount you have spent on each ad or keyword. By default, this is for the current month, but you can adjust the timeframe.
What you need to know: Spend helps you keep track of your budget. For example, if you find that your delivery status is “Budget Paused,” you could be spending your budget before the end of the day or month, depending on your budget option. Consider changing your budget option or adjusting your budget.
Get more info: What if I reach my daily or monthly budget limit?
What it is: The average position on the web pagefor ads that were delivered. Although it varies, positions 1-4 appear at the top of the search results page and positions 5-10 appear in other locations (for example, the sidebar).
Why it’s important: Ads that are on the first search results page tend to receive more clicks.
Tip Look at avg. position on the keywords tab, and make adjustments to keyword bids to move ads into the best position.
Get more info: Get my ad to the top of the search results page
What it is: The total advertising cost divided by the number of impressions (in thousands). In Latin, mille means a thousand. Also, sometimes called average cost per thousand (CPT).
What you need to know: This is a standard advertising industry performance metric that we calculate based on your spend and number of impressions.
What it is: The total spend divided by conversions that are attributable to the ad. A conversion, or acquisition, is something that you want to happen after someone clicks your ad, for example, purchasing a product or registering for your site.
Why it’s important: Although you cannot bid based on cost per acquisition, you can still track the cost of your conversions.
Get more info: Track conversions and other site goals with Universal Event Tracking
What it is: A conversion is a click that results in a sale or another measure of success. Conversions are measured by adding a small bit of code to your website pages so that a visitor’s progress through your site can be tracked.
Why it’s important: Knowing how people interact with your website can give you valuable feedback on improving your website’s organization and content.
Get more info: What are customers doing once they get to your website?
What it is: The number of conversions, divided by the total number of clicks. For example, if the ads in your campaign received 300 clicks and 4 conversions, the conversion rate is 1.33%.
Why it’s important: The higher your conversion rate, the better your campaign and its ads are performing. A good conversion rate is generally between 2 and 3 percent.
Get more info: What are customers doing once they get to your website?
What it is: A value that you can collect using universal event tracking. Based on conversions, revenue can be a constant value per conversion or a variable amount, such as a sales total.
Why it’s important: You can track how much money you make for each conversion.
What you need to know: You’ll need to use universal event tracking for the revenue column to show data.
Get more info: Track conversions and other site goals with Universal Event Tracking
What it is: Revenue divided by spend, expressed as a percentage. For example, if your revenue is $30,000 and your advertising spend is $20,000, ROAS = 150% (30,000/20,000 x 100).
Why it’s important: You’ll need to use universal event tracking for the ROAS to show data.
Get more info: Track conversions and other site goals with Universal Event Tracking
What it is: There are two main ad types: text ads and WAP mobile ads, which only appear on mobile phones without browsers, not smartphones. (You might also see product ads if they are available in your location.)
Get more info: What are ad extensions?
What it is: The number of clicks on a Call Extension phone number. This includes clicks on call forwarding (metered) phone numbers only.
What you need to know: Currently, Call Extensions are only available in the US and UK for all devices. However, call forwarding calls are available on smartphones in all Bing Ads countries/regions.
Get more info: What are ad extensions?
What it is: Phone impressions are the number of times that your call forwarding number was shown on all devices.
What you need to know: Applicable only when you are using Call Extensions with a call forwarding number.
Get more info: What are Call Extensions?
What it is: The total number of phone calls divided by total phone impressions.
What you need to know: Applicable only when you are using Call Extensions with a call forwarding number.
Get more info: What are ad extensions?
What it is: The average cost per phone call.
What you need to know: You pay for clicks on call extensions just like you pay for clicks on ads.
Get more info: What are ad extensions?
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